Before 1925 - At Tower Hill
Although Witton Chapel was a new building it was not a new work. A group of Christians had been meeting together near the centre of the town in Tower Hill. They worshipped together, held a sunday school and women's meeting in a rented, single-storied, brick building, which was about half the size of the main hall at Witton. It is recorded in the church minutes that a service of baptism (presumably by immersion) was held there in April 1924.
It is highly likely that the work at Tower Hill was started by Mr. F. R. Tringham when he came to live in Droitwich, for health reasons, in 1912. He was something of a pioneer, having been involved in starting assemblies at Warwick, Crowle, South Yardley and Park Lane (Birmingham). He also helped to start the YMCA in London.
Mr Tringham ran a soup kitchen at Tower Hill for the salt workers, who went through difficult times. He helped them in other ways too and was a respected figure in the town. His main concern, however, was that sinners should hear the Gospel and it was he who suggested that the chapel have a special Gospel effort in 1928.
After 1925 most meetings were held at Witton but the Sunday School and Thursday afternoon Women's Meeting continued at the old building. It was agreed that the running costs for Tower Hill were to be kept to no more than £12 pounds a year.
In the early 1930s the building was re-opened as a labour exchange (job centre). It was later demolished.